Skip navigation

Light at the end of the tunnel….

 

I can honestly say that I am feeling a lot better.  I certainly seem to be on an upward swing from the pneumonia that overtook my body and brought me to an immediate stop, making me feel like I crashed and burned…..but now starting to feel like I am returning to my normal spunky self……Just one problem, my brain still seems to be stuck in a fog somewhere…..I hate to report, that my brain is currently missing in action.

 

I am generally someone who knows what they want, goes out and buys it, takes care of it, fixes it, completes it, whatever is needed.  Not lots of haggling, decision making, indecisiveness……I just get what I need or do what I need to do and go home.  I’m a take care of business kind of gal….

 

This has proved not to be the case since I first became ill a few weeks ago.  When I got sick, my brain turned to toast…maybe the high temps, maybe the vast array of different meds..…I’m not sure, but my brain focusing ability and decision making capabilities have gone straight out the window.   

 

Remember the new furniture I couldn’t make up my mind about a few weeks back?  Seems I am still in a brain fart fog and my house is still minus the new furniture.  A camera I have wanted to buy, is still at Best Buy secretly calling my name, a new bedroom set and paint on my bedroom walls is still un-purchased and the paint color has still not been determined.  I even stood at Wal-Mart the other night unable to decide what kind of socks I wanted to purchase…holding a different sack of socks in each had….me standing there with a blank stare on my face.  *Crickets chirped*

 

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me.  It’s like my brain has joined Elvis and “Left the building.”……Gone, absent, nada.  I have without question entered the brain fart zone…..and it has sucked me up like a black hole.

 

I need my brain back. 

 

I can meander thru the rather dull parts of my days without my brain, but for mildly more strenuous mental decisions like rent calculations, my normal smart @ss witty come backs, learning the new system at work, furniture picking out, paint and camera decisions…… my brain is desperately needed. 

 

So in the weeks to come, when you pull your milk carton out of the refrigerator please take note of the message on the side:

 

Missing:  Laura’s Brain

 

 

If found call 1-800-BRN-FART
 
 
 
 
 

5 Comments

  1. It will get better.. your body has been through a lot.  Sleeping with dogs doesn’t help your sleep though :\  I used to sleep with my cats but even their presence in bed would distract me.

  2. Just give your body a little time and oxygen! Have to rebuild all the little brain cells that died from lack of oxygen and medicines! I know, I just got home from the hospital with it. Give it a week or so, and you’ll be perking along on all cylinders!

  3. *gasp* Your brain is missing! We must find it! And you are quite correct, many parts of your average day can be gone through without so much as a brain cell. But when you need to do something, you better be able to round up ALL them cells! And sadly, you are not able to do that at the moment, so I will hope that you will be able to soon!

  4. I am glad you are feeling better!  Was fun…wasn’t it?????
     
    Garlene

  5. Aww, I hate those moments (whether they last for a minute, an hour, a day or a week) where our brain stops but our body keeps going ..   it can be especially worrisome when the brain stops but the mouth keeps going!  That has happened to me a few times in the past. Yikes! LOL
    I hope you are feeling more and more like yourself as each day passes.
    hugs,
    Molly


Leave a comment