Skip navigation

I feel like I have waited my entire life to do this photography work…..I LOVE it *whispers ( almost as much as I love the dogs!!)…..Once I do a shoot I spend long nights delving over photos, editing, cropping, burning, etc….I work on them for days and days…I just can’t get enough of them.  Then once I proclaim I’m finally finished editing a set of shots, I give it a few days rest and then go back over them with a fresh eye before I call it a wrap. 

Some photos I take a look back at, make me laugh… some make me want to cry, others just stir an emotion and I can’t really explain it……I look at them, and that photo takes me to another place.

Take this shoot for instance, I shot 3 of my friends grandchildren this day.  All of whom are darling, and one of the 3 little princesses is also severely autistic.  She seemed almost totally unaware I was even there, somehow in her own world, a world far , far away from where we were…..more interested in a bottle of bubbles that captured her attention, than having any photos taken by the lady following her around with a camera……

Taking the photos that day made me remember how blessed I was as a Mother with 5 healthy children, it made me wish I better understood autism…I felt ashamed I actually knew so little.

But just look at these incredibly beautiful, haunting eyes………

I knew our shoot wouldn’t be typical, but I do feel like the photos turned out nicely. 

 This next photo makes me laugh because these two  were being really silly….laughing and chatting ~ I had lots of fun with them but to be honest  the joyful expressions and non stop gabbing was a bitter reminder of the difference between these two and Savanna.

This next photo stirs an emotion I cant explain.  ~Right after I took this photo, Savanna came straight to me and gave me a big hug…….it welled such emotion in me it honestly threw me for a loop.  I had been there for hours,  hadn’t heard her murmur a sound or show a bit of emotion the entire time I was there.  Matter of fact, she spent most of her time  heading in the opposite direction, and then out of no where, this spontaneous sign of emotion towards me, it nearly made me cry…..

I dont know where it came from, but I loved it.  I love kids, and for some reason kids just love me…..Savanna was no exception!  I loved her right back!! After the hug she stepped away from me, I stretched out my finger to her and she reached out and held it…..I snapped the final photo…here it is….

 Editing the photos, I couldn’t get past those big, beautiful eyes.

I pray that one day soon they find a cure for autism, and they find all of those little souls in those far far away places.

4 Comments

  1. Savanna must have sensed that you were making her look even more lovely, and she was right. Those photos are gorgeous. How nice that you love what you are great at!

  2. awh thanks Teri. Savanna was so beautiful. Thank you abut the photos. I sure love doing it. 🙂

  3. Laura, don’t know if you are checking your blog. I just wanted to wish you and your family happy holidays!

    • Yes Teri…..Thank you and the same to you! xo


Leave a Reply

