Skip navigation

This morning, like every other morning….. my dog Bear woke me up. 

 

Thanks to an accurate internal time clock,  he knows that 5:45 AM is about the time to start stirring around to get me up by 6:00 AM every morning, so he usually licks my foot or hand, (whatever is hanging off of the bed) loudly sniffs my hair then sneezes, paws me, and/or puts his feet up on the bed and gives me a kiss right smack dab on the kisser……he will continue this pattern until I finally push myself up out of bed…..at that time all of the dogs dance around, snort, fart, make tons of commotion….all before I can get the bedroom door open…….THAT wakes Stacy up, and everyone else in the house generally.

 

Although today was a morning just like every other…….my mind raced as I made my way down the stairs with all of the dogs doing their usual spinning and zooming around with excitement, I found myself thinking about Bear’s life in the shelter before he came to live with us……….6 months he lived in the stinky shelter, (sorry to say stinky, but if you have ever been to a shelter the smell is usually the first thing that stands out….can you imagine how it smells to a dog who’s sense of smell is so much better than ours?)….anyways, he stayed long hours in a crate, refusing to eat, waiting on someone to show up, take him home and love him.  Waiting…..waiting….waiting.  The poor guy was way too thin and depressed when I finally got him.

 

Had I not showed up to get him the day I did, he would have been put down the following day……the thought of that never leaves me for many reasons but mainly because he is such a all-round wonderful dog.

 

The same day Bear came home with me, another wonderful Black dog (Oreo) that was also doomed due to the color of his dark fir and large size came home with us as well.  Both dogs turned out to be great dogs…..

 

All shelter dogs have a chance of being looked over and we all know that eventually there is the all to real possibility of them being put to sleep, but most large black dogs are truly doomed the moment they enter the shelter…. for no reason other than the fact they are large and black…..most people don’t even realized it but odds are the people that are there to look at the dogs for adoption, wont even give a black dog a second look……they glance right past the crate holding the black dog…..and look at the next crate holding a lighter colored dog.

 

I want that to change!!

 

I want people to not only consider black dogs, but to make a point to adopt them……If you make it to the shelter to look at a dog for adoption……Please at least consider one of the black dogs, take a black dog out of the crate, take it outside and visit with it for a while… make a point to NOT look past the crates holding the black dogs.  If you have to, count the number of black dogs at the shelter…. it might surprise you.  I would almost bet that if you ask one of the attendants what good dogs they have held onto the longest hoping for a good home…..they will be predominantly black dogs.  These are often the dogs that are well behaved, housetrained, etc but are still looked over and the staff hold onto them longer because they are such good dogs.  That was exactly the case with Bear.  I asked a woman at the shelter what dog had been there a long time and was a really good dog and they couldn’t figure out why it had not been adopted…….she said “Bear.” 

 

I can remember the photo I saw of him that was on the opening page of the shelter’s web page that said “IN URGENT NEED OF A HOME”.  It was the most unflattering photo of him…..but then a few days later they posted a photo that included some of the dogs dressed up in costume for a parade…..Bear was dressed up as an Angel and seemed to take the whole costume and halo he was wearing in stride.  I felt that spoke volumes for his character.  I drove to meet him a day later……the rest is history.

 

Something to think about….. what are the odds that I adopted two black dogs from a shelter the same day, they had not lived together previously, and both were not only well behaved but also house trained.  Don’t get me wrong, like all dogs; they are not perfect by any means…….Oreo and Bear have both chewed up their share of household items, but for the most part I think both are not only  prime examples of what great dogs can come from shelters but what great dogs are being put down every day for no reason other than the fact they are black.

 

Please give a big black dog a second chance.

 

I know I have written about this several times, but if this message touches one person that will at least consider adopting a black dog, then it was worth me repeating.

 

Hug your dog today!

 

Laura

 

PS…….I don’t know what I would do without my Bearie-Blueberry.

12 Comments

  1. Laura you continue to amaze me!  Thank you for the update on Stellar, I was one of the dorks that was wondering how he was.  If I could have a dog, I would actually prefer a black one, I think they tend to make me look thinner. (tee hee)  Your babies are all wonderful, and they are belssed to have you as their leader.  Have a wonderful day!!
     
    Teri

  2. Could I have meant "blessed"???  Okay, where’s my coffee…..

  3. I already own two black doggies and they are my babies.  Blacky is a larger version of your Bear.  And Luci is a black lab.  Blacky was an orphan that Hubby rescued from the streets.  He was wandering around looking for somebody to give him a home.  He was 4 weeks old and weighed 3 lbs. 13 oz.  Seven years later, he’s my 92 lb. baby boy. 
     
    Okay, I’ll admit that I bought Luci from a breeder . . . but I was specifically looking for a black lab and would have adopted one if I had found one at the local shelter . . . .

  4. I have only ever adopted black dogs…
    I love them and I guess im selfish cuz thats all i want
    I keep looking for the perfect mutt but, i gets depressing…i see the same dogs still waiting ..ugh it breaks my heart
    thanks for starting the adopt a black dog campaign
    i just love em….and that oreo and bear i just wanna kiss them like crazy!
    and im glad to hear about stellar…we always knew he would be ok..take care! di

  5. How could no-one have wanted to adopt Bear?  He’s so beautiful!  I neve knew that black dogs were rarely chosen from shelters… That’s incredibly sad, and stunning to me.  Give your Bearie-Blueberry a kiss from all your blogger friends!  And the rest of your tribe, kisses, too!
     
    Saw you posted your latest artwork… nice!  Did it hurt??

  6. I didn’t know that about black dogs at shelters.  You learn something new everyday! 
     
    I’m not sure if it’s the same for cats, but when I was finally able to get a cat, I searched high and low for a black cat.  I have a thing for black cats.  They get a bad rap if you want my opinion.  I actually got one from a shelter (unfortunately she died 2 and a half weeks after I got her!  She was only 10 weeks old).  Then I found another black cat and I’ve had Spooky for over 2 years now.
     
    Someday when I am able to have a dog, I promise I will remember what I learned from you!

  7. So very true, about the black dogs…I have my own sweet Maggie who is from a shelter also, and she had demodectic mange on top of being black, so she was REALLY overlooked!  But she is my baby, wouldn’t trade her for the world.  Our local shelter operates the same way, often keeping mostly lighter color dogs for adoption…a sad thing…the plight of the black shelter dog DOES need more attention!! 

  8. Hear Hear!!!  I see this so often at our shelters, it’s so saaaad.  We have an annual affair here called Strut Your Mutt.  Best Friends on Tour had the BlackDog Pack to raise awareness of black dogs. 
    I have my own "mostely black" boy.  Baron the Rottie.  He’s such a doofus, but sucha good boy, wouldn’t trade him for the world.

  9. Thanks for writing this post.Many large black dogs are lab mixes,it is surprising how many lab mixes are at shelters,And the lab is the most popular dog of all the breeds.Lab and lab mixes tend to be loyal,loving,good with cildren,easily trained,and all around the best companion dog I have had.My found labs have been chocolate,and although I confess I prefer the choclolate color over the yellow or the black,there is no dought that the personality is the same regardless of the color.Please,anyone considering bringing a dog into your families home,consider a lab,or lab mix regardless of color,you will get a lifetime companion that you will be so glad to have.

  10. Good for you Laura, I never heard such a thing statistically about black dogs, but I’ll take yer word for it. I just applied for a job at the shelter here where I live. I used to volunteer at the one where I live fruther norht for 6 years. I’m ready to devote more time to my animals friends, iof you’ve followed my blog events recently, you’ll know why. Love and hugs til next time, Kat

  11. I have heard this before from you and it is sad.  Black dogs are beautiful, all dogs are beautiful.  I have two black huskies I adopted from what could have been a terrible situation.  I know I’ve said this before but "Thank you for what you do."

  12. I never knew that.  Really, I would have figured white dogs to be the unwanted ones.  Seems like everyone has a black lab.  Huh.  You learn something everyday. 
     
    How was the cabin for Stacy’s birthday?  Have you guys gone yet?  I love that the whole family loves to camp together.  Soooo fun. 
     
    Except for the unbearable heat.  I can’t believe you drove home just to sleep in the air conditioning only to drive back to the campground the next morning!  That is some FUNNY camping!
     
    I also can’t believe you ran into a long lost friend at Wal-Mart!  That’s just crazy!  Very cool, but a bit crazy.
     
    OK, that’s all I got to comment on.  Hope life is good.


Leave a comment